The Curriculum

"This is an outstanding school." (Ofsted)

The Curriculum

Children from birth to five have their own Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. This curriculum offers children the opportunity to learn through a wide range of fun, practical experiences were children can observe, explore, discover and communicate in both the indoor and outdoor learning environments.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) has many aspects to it. Below are the four key principles that underpin our EYFS approach at Ganneys Meadow Nursery School and Family Centre.

A Unique Child

Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments

The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

The seven areas of learning and development are:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Communication and Language(CL)
  • Physical Development (PD)

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


Meet Us